Founded in 1905, the Mayflower is a landmark in our city’s rich history. In 1912 the ice shed was used as a morgue for victims of the infamous Titanic sinking, and just five years later the club was destroyed in the devastating Halifax explosion. The Mayflower was rebuilt on Agricola Street, where it remained until moving to its present location on Monaghan Drive in 1962.
The curling club, which houses six sheets of ice for leagues of all levels, is one of the largest clubs east of Ontario and one of the most well-known clubs in Canada. The club boasts an impressive roster of hosting 13 Canadian championships in the past 15 years, numerous provincial championships and several national events, including the 1995 TSN Skins Game, the 2002 Canadian Mixed, the 2011 Canada Winter Games (Curling Venue), and the 2014 Travelers Canadian Club Championships. In January of 2016 and 2017 the Mayflower proudly hosted the Nova Scotia Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, the first time these events were held concurrently.
The Mayflower Curling Club is a non-profit organization, governed by its Board of Directors as directed by the membership. The Board is made up of an Executive (President, Past President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) and six additional Directors (House, Membership, Curling, Communications, Day Ladies, and Junior). The General Manager is responsible for daily operations and reports to the Board.
Our membership is our most valued asset at the club. Today the club’s membership roster includes approximately 430 adult members and 115 youth members that participate in leagues every day of the week.
In addition to six sheets of curling ice, the Mayflower clubhouse has two lounges, bar facilities, full-service kitchen and a pro shop.
The Mayflower Curling Club is a not-for-profit organization.